Rants

(Sorry readers, just feel like ranting today…)

#1  Why am I always always doing laundry?  I just can’t understand how it piles up the way it does!  Before I got married, I probably only had to do laundry once every 2 or 3 weeks, but now, I’m doing 3 loads at a time once a week!  It could be partially due to the fact that the laundry machines in our building are tiny, but I really think it’s the boxers, the socks, the undershirts, the T-shirts, the smelly gym clothes…  As women, I think we just have less (and smaller) items that need to be changed daily!  I think I would be much less frustrated if the washer and dryer were right here in our apartment, but sadly, they are not.  We have one communal set of machines on our floor, so I have to drag the dirty laundry, the detergent/bleach/softener/etc, laundry card and house keys with me.  Not to mention the fact that I can’t control the cycle, soaking, extra rinsing, etc.  What a pain.

#2  Yuppie Husband is pretty active (gym, sports, etc), and I have never, until having to do his laundry, encountered such horrid smells.  His gym clothes are literally still wet when I take them out of the hamper to wash, and I always have to hold my breath.  I have asked him to air his clothes out before throwing them in, but I’m not sure that is helping…  Do any of you ladies out there have a similar problem?  How do you deal with it?

#3  Dishes.  Why are there always dishes?  I used to be a firm believer that dishes should never be left in the sink for more than half a day, and certainly never overnight.  But now?  Always dishes.  Our sink is also kind of small, and doesn’t have one of the detachable faucets, so washing larger items can be a little messy…

Being a housewife is hard.  Not that I should be complaining – at least I don’t have to work!

Leave a Reply

