Idle Hands

You know the saying “Idle hands are the devil’s workshop/playground/etc”?  I think I have come to know the meaning of that phrase.

Lately, I have been BORED with a capital B-O-R-E-D.  I spend my time watching TV and on the computer.  And that is pretty much it for the day.  I have big ideas about things I’d like to do around the community, but when it comes to motivation, I am seriously lacking.  I know I should be more productive, but instead, I just burrow deeper and deeper into solitude.  Boredom seems to lead only to more boredom.  And so then I think housewife life must not be for me.  I should get a job!  And then I won’t be bored anymore!  But, when I was working, I was tied down and miserable.  Clearly, job or not, this is not the problem.

And today I realized that my boredom has led to feelings of emptiness and loneliness.  This is strange since my weekend has been filled with activity and people.  But again, it is very clear that the problem is not with my external circumstances (job, friends, activities, family, etc) but with my inner self.  I haven’t been making God a priority in my life.    With all this time on my hands, I should be spending my time reading the Word, praying, developing a deeper personal relationship with Him.  Only He can fill our hearts with the joy that we desire!

I keep waiting, putting my life on hold for the next step.  I won’t be bored when _________.  I’ll have tons of things to do when __________.  Life will be great when ___________.  When when when!  But, every day I spend in anticipation of something better is another day wasted that could have been great. 

My life resolution is to try to live life to its fullest.  And that may still mean days at home watching TV and on the computer, but I hope I’ll love it and enjoy those nice breaks.  I hope to go out for walks, and simply appreciate the sky, the ground, the ability to walk!  I hope to greet Yuppie Husband with kisses and smiles when he gets home, instead of dejection and self pity.  I hope to wake each morning with peaceful dreams from the night and high hopes for the day.  I hope to live in the light of the Lord, and walk in the path of righteousness.  I hope to embrace my life, obstacles and all.

And I sincerely hope the same for all of you out there!  God bless!

Leave a Reply

