What I Learned This Week

 

What a great idea from Musings of a Housewife!

1.  Employed or not, it is impractical to cook gourmet meals for dinner on a regular basis.  I started off with 4-course meals: soup/salad, entree, side, dessert.  Too many ingredients required, too much prep work, and way too much post-cooking cleaning!  There is a reason why chefs need sous chefs and station chefs and food prep assistants!  Maybe I’ll try again when I have a bigger and better kitchen… 

2.  Kitchen electrics are so much cheaper at Costco!  The same Cuisinart Popcorn Maker that sells at Williams-Sonoma for $69.95 and at Amazon for $64.99 sells at Costco for ~$40!  The KitchenAid 5-Quart Pro 5 Plus Stand Mixer sells for $279 at Costco (and Amazon), compared to the $419.99 (or even $319.99 on sale) at Macy’s.  I picked up a Cuisinart Griddler/Panini Press at Costco for $69.99 (Costco price plus a coupon!); same griddler being sold on Amazon for $108.99.   What a deal!

3. Superfoods are amazing!  According to Dr. Oz, anyway.  Did you know that eating tomatoes can help protect your skin from sun damage?  That if you have a high-calcium diet you can double your body’s fat loss?  Or that drinking water 8 cups of water a day does not improve the appearance of your skin?  Or that detox diets really aren’t able to cleanse your body in such a short time period, but can give you a kick start to a healthier lifestyle?  Eating raw fruits, vegetables and nuts can decrease your cholesterol, blood pressure and help you lose weight?  Fascinating!  Makes me want to eat healthier.  Reminds me of a fantastic diet/lifestyle book I followed once: The Raw Food Detox Diet (Natalia Rose).  Review on this to come!

4. Real estate disclosure packages are LONG and BORING.  Buying a house is a very daunting process!  Wish us luck!  Once its all over, I’ll think about posting a How To on buy a house…

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I want to know more about superfoods. Is this a book?

    And I’m going to Costco tomorrow. Will check out appliances. I really want a new stand mixer. Got my eye on the one Emeril uses.

    Which leads me to your #1. I so love to cook but it’s so pricey and impractical. I’ve learned to mix in simple meals with more intricate ones so I don’t get burned out.

    thanks for joining the carnival this week!

  2. 2

    yuppiehousewife said,

    Thanks for the comment!

    The “Truth About Food” was yesterday’s episode of Oprah. You can read all about it here: http://www.oprah.com/dated/oprahshow/oprahshow_20070917.

    Which stand mixer does Emeril use? Being my usual indesicive self, I have been holding off on which to purchase. Way too many options!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

